Article Details

large article image
article image zoom
Article ID CD-8733
Format CD
Artist Various Artists
Title Joe Gibbs Presents Knockout Sounds Straight To The Head
Track list
Pos. Sample Artist Title Riddim Remarks
1 MP3 sample Johnny Lover Straight To The Head
2 MP3 sample The Destroyers Compass
3 MP3 sample Niney & Slim Smith Honey No Money
4 MP3 sample The Destroyers News Flash
5 MP3 sample The Destroyers News Flash Version
6 MP3 sample The Immortals Perfect Born Ya
7 MP3 sample Niney & The Destroyers Niney Special
8 MP3 sample Busty Brown & The Destroyers Rock The Clock
9 MP3 sample The Destroyers Rock The Clock (Version 2)
10 MP3 sample The Soul Brothers Pussy Catch A Fire
11 MP3 sample Lizzy Ten Feet Tall
12 MP3 sample Count Matchuki Movements
13 MP3 sample The Immortals Red Red Wine
14 MP3 sample Andy Capp Musical Recipe
15 MP3 sample Winston Wright O Lord
16 MP3 sample Count Matchuki Hi-Jacked
17 MP3 sample Cynthia & Al United We Stand
18 MP3 sample Lord Comic Jack Of My Trade
19 MP3 sample Lizzy & Cornel Campbell Aquarius
20 MP3 sample Carlton Gibbs Ghost Walk
21 MP3 sample The Joe Gibbs All Stars Ghost Capturer
22 MP3 sample Johnny Lover Straight To The Head
23 MP3 sample Carlton Gibbs Seeing Is Believing
24 MP3 sample Lizzy Joy Stick
25 MP3 sample Johnny Lover & Charley Ace Head Cup
26 MP3 sample The 3rd & 4th Generation Echo (Version)
27 MP3 sample Johnny Lover & Destroyers Nevada Joe
Style(s) Reggae
Label Doctor Bird DBCD091
Year 2021
Country GB - United Kingdom
Quality m/m
Remarks 27 recordings from Joe Gibbs studio, a celebration of early reggae demonstrating the quality of Gibbs's output throughout 1970, reflecting the developing sound of reggae during this formative and fascinating period.

Includes tracks by some of the most influential Jamaican DJs of all time; featuring numerous reggae hits from 1970 with nine tracks new to CD

Highlights include hits and misses by a number of pioneering DJs including sound system veterans, Count Matchuki and Lord Comic, as well as relative newcomers, Johnny Lover, Lizzy and Carlton ‘Caly’ Gibbs.

By the dawn of the 1970s, Joe Gibbs was firmly established as one of Jamaica’s premier music makers, having released an array of rock steady and reggae hits over the preceding few years.

The months and years that immediately followed would bring even greater success, but before the producer’s hit- making talents received international recognition, he consolidated his lofty position on the Kingston scene with further best-sellers featuring some of the island’s brightest talents.

With nine tracks making their CD debut, ‘Straight To The Head’ is an essential acquisition for both fans of vintage Jamaican sounds and those wishing to discover the early works of one of the most successful and influential Kingston-based producers of all time.
Price EUR 12.44
Available from stock
cart Add to Shopping Cart