Article Details

large article image
article image zoom
Article ID CD-8735
Format 2x CD
Artist Brent Dowe & The Melodians
Title Build Me Up & Pre-Meditation
Track list
Pos. Sample Artist Title Riddim Remarks
1 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Build Me Up
2 MP3 sample Brent Dowe I'm Gonna Love You
3 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Close To You
4 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Don't Give Up
5 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Love Is A Hurting Thing
6 MP3 sample Brent Dowe You Can Tell The World
7 MP3 sample Brent Dowe A Little Bit Of Love
8 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Ungrateful Baby
9 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Without Me
10 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Something You Don't Have
11 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Any Heart Can Be Broken
12 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Heartbreaking Love
13 MP3 sample Brent Dowe No Sweeter Way BONUS TRACKS
14 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Share The Good Times
15 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Two Sides To Every Story
16 MP3 sample Brent Dowe The News Is Out
17 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Making A Way
18 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Little Blue Bird
19 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Girl I've Got A Date
20 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Tonight
21 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Babylon Policy
22 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Forward Up
23 MP3 sample Brent Dowe Dance Pon Yah Corner
24 MP3 sample Brent Dowe It Cool
25 MP3 sample Melodians Don't Get Weary Melodians - Pre-Meditation
26 MP3 sample Melodians Little Nut Tree
27 MP3 sample Melodians Swing And Dine
28 MP3 sample Melodians No Ga Long So
29 MP3 sample Melodians Love One Another
30 MP3 sample Melodians Better Days Are Coming
31 MP3 sample Melodians Dry Up Yuh Tears
32 MP3 sample Melodians I'm Gonna Fall In Love
33 MP3 sample Melodians Give Me Some Way To Love
34 MP3 sample Melodians Survival Is The Game
35 MP3 sample Melodians Black Man Kingdom Come BONUS TRACKS
36 MP3 sample Melodians Heartaches
37 MP3 sample Melodians No Nola
38 MP3 sample Melodians I'll Take You Where The Music's Playing
39 MP3 sample Melodians Down In The Garden
40 MP3 sample Melodians I Could Be A King
41 MP3 sample Melodians Good Thing
42 MP3 sample Melodians It's All In The Family
43 MP3 sample Melodians You Are My Only Love
44 MP3 sample Melodians Lock Love Away
45 MP3 sample Melodians Lonely
46 MP3 sample Melodians Sweet City Woman
47 MP3 sample Melodians Your Destiny
48 MP3 sample Melodians Melodians Medley
Style(s) Reggae
Label Doctor Bird DBCDD089
Country GB - United Kingdom
Quality m/m
Remarks Having made his name on the Jamaican music scene in the '60s as an accomplished singer-songwriter with leading Jamaican vocal trio, The Melodians, Brent Dowe became one of the island’s leading soloists, notching up a series of best-selling 7” singles for producer, Sonia Pottinger.

In 1973, the best of his work to date was gathered for his debut album, ‘Build Me Up’, a best seller both in Jamaica and the UK, where an expanded version of the collection was released by Trojan Records.
This classic collection finally sees re-issue after 47 years, with its original track-listing enhanced by the remainder of Dowe’s work for Sonia Pottinger’s High Note label, with their number including some of the biggest reggae hits from the ’70s, many of which have remained unavailable on any format for decades.

The second disc of this 2CD set comprises the 1978 album, ‘Pre-Meditation’, which features a dozen Sonia Pottinger-produced tracks performed by Dowe and his fellow Melodians, Tony Brevett and Trevor McNaughton. Now expanded to include the rest of their High Note recordings, the collection demonstrates why Dowe and his famed trio are today widely regarded as being among the finest talents to have made their mark on the Jamaican music scene during its golden age.
Price EUR 18.68
Available from stock
cart Add to Shopping Cart