Article Details

large article image
article image zoom
Article ID LP-12390
Format 2x LP
Artist Various Artists
Title Version Dread
Track list
Pos. Sample Artist Title Riddim Remarks
1 MP3 sample Ernest Wilson & The Sound Dimension Why Oh Why Version Why Oh Why
2 MP3 sample Sound Dimension Fire Coal Version Mr Fire Coal Man
3 MP3 sample Winston & The New Establishment Creation Version Creation Rebel
4 MP3 sample Sound Dimension Please Be True Version Please Be True
5 MP3 sample Willie & The Brentford Rockers Armagideon Version Real Rock
6 MP3 sample The Soul Vendors Born to Dub Born To Love You
7 MP3 sample Sound Dimension Pick Up Version Pick Up The Pieces
8 MP3 sample Lloyd Robinson & Brentford Disco Set It Deep, Pt. 2 It Deep
9 MP3 sample Sound Dimension Version Dread Throw Me Corn
10 MP3 sample Sound Dimension Declaration Version Declaration Of Rights
11 MP3 sample The Soul Vendors Things a Come Up to Dub Things A Come To Bump
12 MP3 sample Sound Dimension Zion Lion Melody Life
13 MP3 sample Cornel & The Brentford Rockers Natty Rub a Dub Natty Don't Go
14 MP3 sample The Heptones & Sound Dimensions Give Me This Version Give Me The Right
15 MP3 sample The New Establishment Fire Version Brimstone And Fire
16 MP3 sample Basil Daley Hold Me Baby, Pt. 2 Hold Me Baby
17 MP3 sample Sound Dimension Train Is Coming, Pt. 2 Train Is Coming
18 MP3 sample The New Establishment New Broom, Pt. 2 New Broom
19 MP3 sample Ernest Ranglin & The Sound Dimension Surfing (Extended Mix) Artibella
20 MP3 sample The New Establishment Never Give Version (Extended Mix) Never Give Your Heart Away
Style(s) Studio One, Dub, Reggae
Label Studio One
Producer Dodd
Country US - United States
Quality m/m re
Remarks Out-of-print for over a decade, Studio One is proud to announce the reissue of Version Dread, the compilation of some of the finest and most sought-after B-sides from the label responsible for fueling the dancehall crazes in Jamaica. Initially released in 2006 by Heartbeat, the album received acclaim from reggae publications like Downbeat Special, who noted “Version Dread gathers together a selection of some of the best B-side versions to emanate from Brentford Road.”

Featuring 18 B-sides of top Studio One singles made for commercial release, the collection includes mixes of the Wailing Souls, Willie Williams, the Abyssinians, and a host of other legendary groups. Also included are two extended mixes: “Never Give Version” by Carlton and the Shoes, and a rare mix of Ernest Ranglin’s “Surfing.” Neither of these songs were featured on the original LP. The LP also comes on stunning red vinyl!
The title “Version Dread” stems from the fact that on the flip sides of most Jamaican singles were dub versions of the vocal tracks, or what were commonly referred to in Jamaica as “versions.” In the early days, these “versions” were mainly the instrumental track with or without vocals. These were the days when songs were not recorded on multi-track machines. As the technology advanced, more complex mixes of the vocal side became the norm, with echo, flanging and dropouts on the instruments and vocals.
Price EUR 47.62
Available out of stock