Article Details

large article image
article image zoom
Article ID LP-12498
Format 2x LP
Artist Gladiators
Title Presenting The Gladiators - Deluxe Edition
Track list
Pos. Sample Artist Title Riddim Remarks
1 MP3 sample Gladiators Hello Carol (Original 2 Track Mix)
2 MP3 sample Gladiators Rainy Night in Georgia (Original 2 Track Mix)
3 MP3 sample Gladiators Easy Squeeze (Stereo Mix)
4 MP3 sample Gladiators Love and Meditation (Stereo Mix)
5 MP3 sample Gladiators On the Other Side (Stereo Mix)
6 MP3 sample Gladiators Jah Jah Go Before Us (Stereo Mix)
7 MP3 sample Gladiators Roots Natty (Original 2 Track Mix)
8 MP3 sample Gladiators Peace Truce (aka Peace) (Stereo Mix)
9 MP3 sample Gladiators My Thoughts (Mono Mix)
10 MP3 sample Gladiators Downtown Rebel (Mono Mix)
11 MP3 sample Gladiators Jah Almighty (Original 2 Track Mix)
12 MP3 sample Gladiators Serious Thing (Take 2) (Original 2 Track Mix) [Previously unreleased on LP]
13 MP3 sample Gladiators Serious Version (Original 2 Track Mix) [Previously unreleased on LP]
14 MP3 sample Gladiators Jah Jah (Vers.) (Stereo Mix) [Previously unreleased on LP]
15 MP3 sample Gladiators Culture (Original 2 Track Mix) [Previously unreleased on LP]
16 MP3 sample Gladiators Rearrange (Disco Mix) [Previously unreleased]
17 MP3 sample Gladiators Peace Truce (Disco Mix) [Previously unreleased]
18 MP3 sample Gladiators Roots Natty/Natty Chalawa (Disco Mix) (feat. Lone Ranger)[Previously unreleased]
Style(s) Studio One, Reggae
Label Studio One 017
Country US - United States
Quality m/m
Remarks The Gladiators created some of Reggae’s most enduring songs. Albert Griffiths’ sensibilities as a songwriter and singer, complemented perfectly by the sweetness of Clinton Fearon’s voice and Gallimore Sutherland’s harmony made for one of the genre’s greatest vocal trios. Despite their later success, it was their output for Studio One that formed the group’s sound and molded their success. Songs like “Roots Natty” found on Presenting the Gladiators are some of the best in the Studio One catalog and rank among the best that the group recorded. The sound of the Gladiators at Studio One will always be timeless.

Presenting the Gladiators has been out of print for over a decade, and this deluxe edition includes all the songs found on the original album and its subsequent re-issues while restoring its original track listing for the first time in forty years. Also included are various dubs, extended mixes (many of which are previously unreleased), and “Serious Thing” taken from the master tapes.
Price EUR 33.98
Available from stock
cart Add to Shopping Cart