Article Details

large article image
article image zoom
Article ID LP-15576
Format 2x LP
Artist Various Artists
Title Channel One Sound System - Down In The Dub Vaults
Track list
Pos. Sample Artist Title Riddim Remarks
1 MP3 sample Wailing Souls Kingdom Rise Kingdom Fall
2 MP3 sample Reggae Regular Ghetto Rock
3 MP3 sample Michael Prophet Just Talking
4 MP3 sample TeTrack Trappers
5 MP3 sample Reggae Regular Black Star Liner
6 MP3 sample Triston Palma Joker Smoker
7 MP3 sample Anthony Johnson Let Go This One
8 MP3 sample Hugh Mundell Can't Pop No Style
9 MP3 sample Linval Thompson One More Chance
10 MP3 sample Keith Hudson Bloody Eyes
11 MP3 sample Dean Fraser & The Roots Radics Joker Smoker Dub
12 MP3 sample Reggae Regular Ghetto Dubbing
13 MP3 sample Hi Times Band Just Dubbing
14 MP3 sample Sly & Robbie Trappers Dub
15 MP3 sample Reggae Regular The Dub (It's Coming)
16 MP3 sample Roots Radics Kingdom Rise Kingdom Dub
17 MP3 sample Roots Radics Let Go This Dub
18 MP3 sample Rockers All Stars Can't Pop No Style Dubwise
19 MP3 sample The Revolutionaires One More Dub
20 MP3 sample Keith Hudson My Eyes Are Red
Style(s) Reggae, Dub
Label Greensleeves VPGSRL7106
Year 2023
Country GB - United Kingdom
Quality m/m
Remarks Greensleeves Records, the legendary U.K. label, has teamed up with the ‘Roots Defenders of Notting Hill Carnival’, Channel One Soundsystem to head ‘Down In The Dub Vaults’. The enigmatic selector Mikey Dread has been let loose in the Greensleeves archives, curating a serious set of Roots & Dub gems that have featured over the years on Channel One’s unique handbuilt Soundsystem.

Revered Jamaican vocalists such as the Wailing Souls, Michael Prophet, Linval Thompson, Hugh Mundell and many more feature on this collection plus on the second disc we enter the Echo Chamber with their Dub counterparts from the likes of Sly & Robbie, Scientist, Augustus Pablo and The Rockers All-Stars et al to complete the listening experience.

After taking over the family Soundsystem ‘Admiral Bailey’ in 1979, Mikey Dread & his brother Jah T began playing Blues dances and Shebeens all over the U.K. Roots, Dub and the emerging sound of Rubadub carried the swing during this period so Mikey renamed the Sound ‘Channel One’ after the famous Jamaican studio, located on Maxfield Avenue in Kingston, responsible for many Greensleeves’ classics of the era which Mikey has hand-picked for this exclusive
compilation. This is the first time a British Soundsystem has been involved with a project like this since Greensleeves Records released Jah Shaka’s ‘The Positive Message’ in 2010.
Price EUR 32.90
Available out of stock